Survivor01’s Weblog

March 19, 2011

DeepStacks Live Training in Reno

Filed under: Uncategorized — survivor01 @ 6:57 pm

I make friends very easily, hopefully its because of my sparkling personality but mostly because of the situations I find myself in and I like to believe I’m an outwardly friendly person! I made friends with a guy at my poker table during the recent Randy Coutour Charity event, he was friendly and we chatted until our table broke. We later ended up side by side once again at the final table. Reunited like old friends, we got to know each other a little better while waiting for play to resume. We finally introduced ourselves and this friendly guy turned out to be Chris Torina, President/CEO of DeepStacks Live, a new innovative training camp for poker players of all skill levels. Well, being the poker sponge that I am, I began probing for information on what the training would consist of. They were just starting out, but had an online live session coming up with some very big names teaching on a real felt with live students and a new 360 degree camera. It all sounded exciting and something no other training camps had ever tried, so he had my full attention. I signed up and watched the live stream training online and was totally surprised at how great the concept was and the ability of the instructors to communicate to the viewing audience. The practical one on one teaching was exceptional in comparison to other camps where you are typically one of three hundred people sitting in an audience listening to pros lecturing. Been there, done that….no thanks! I vowed to watch for the beginning offerings for live classes so I could experience what I had just watched on the live stream.
My wish came true in the form of satellite offerings on Full Tilt for a DeepStacks main event and class in Reno. I only played one satellite and did go fairly deep but the satellites were only offered once a week and at a high buy-in. I decided to wait for something more affordable, and wha-la! a contest magically appeared on Facebook to enter and tell why you need the DeepStacks Live training and about yourself and your poker resume. I jumped at the chance to enter and won!! I was on my way to learn from the top pros we see at final tables on television.
Once I arrived at the training center setup at the Grand Sierra, I was greeted by a very friendly staff and invited in to meet the pro’s who would be teaching the course. I knew Mike Matasow and Mike Mizrachi were the head line instructors but I soon learned there were other very knowledgeable and capable pros on staff as well; Adam Levy, Justin Smith, Tristan Wade and Chris Torina. The group was split up on to two tables and the course began with basics and revved into cash games for about an hour. Everyone was given chips to play with and the cards flew out. Every single hand was played and analyzed. Situations in position with specific cards, and player type was set up and discussed. Have you ever even heard of a training class like this for live play? Hand for hand the pro’s talked the strategy, possible hand strength and ranges, power of position, using your observation to your highest advantage, tells, hand choices, strategy for playing trap hands and special plays you’ve never tried, every single element of tournament play. PRICELESS!
I found the instructors to be totally amazing with their genuine concern that every single student was getting all the concepts and individual attention. When they saw someone struggling, a pro would move a chair to sit behind that student and co-play the next hand illustration. There was total dedication to this class and its students when it came to the instructors. The table I was on had several beginners so it gave me a wide open door to ask many questions and dominate the conversation when I could. I had some situations that I really wanted to cover from my WSOP main event, and this was my best opportunity to pick the minds of the greatest of great’s right here and now. I asked Mike Mizrachi if he would stay behind during a break and discuss a few situations with me and he obliged without hesitation. The information was invaluable! Whatever they charge for this course, it’s not enough…..
Overall I felt this training session exceeded my expectations and will impact my game forever. NEVER have I been so excited to have an opportunity to actually SIT with name pro’s who were teaching top notch poker skills! There are NO other poker camps, seminars or schools who are teaching on this level for “live” poker. I repeat NO WHERE! It is my intention to continue following this path of learning the changes in poker strategy and play for as long as I need too, so I will be returning to another one of these courses as soon as I can. My only disappointment was when the class ended……I could have stayed there for hours!
To get more information on this specialized training go to http://www.deepstacks.com

4 Comments »

  1. WOW!

    Comment by jojo — March 20, 2011 @ 3:09 pm | Reply

  2. Nice. I should open my eyes more for this also. Never knew about deepstacks.

    Comment by docs12 — June 11, 2011 @ 7:16 am | Reply

  3. How is Mike Mizrachi in real life? Onest opinion pls

    Comment by Johnny — June 11, 2011 @ 7:18 am | Reply

    • I found Mike to be extremely willing to help in every aspect. He stayed thru breaks to talk with me and in every instance walked thru hands and situations step by step. .

      Comment by survivor01 — June 11, 2011 @ 2:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

